Artsy Kids: Coloring Easter Eggs

Posted on

We always color Easter Eggs the day before Easter at our house, and we always buy the kits at the local store to do so.  This year, however, I decided to make my own dye at home using a method I found on Pinterest (yes, I am a Pinterest addict!).  It was so easy to make, and the eggs turned such bright, bold colors!

Here are the directions:

1.  Pour 1/2 cup of water into plastic or glass cups.

2.  Add 20 drops of food coloring (40 for yellow).  Stir.

3.  Add 1 tablespoon white vinegar.  Stir.

4.  Add boiled eggs and color to desired brightness.  The longer you leave them in, the bolder the color!

Lessons in patience…

IMG_3892IMG_3893

We used glue dots and rubber bands to get some neat effects on our eggs.

IMG_3895

And here are lots of pictures of our beautiful eggs…I did warn you ahead of time that there are lots of pictures, right?

IMG_3896IMG_3897IMG_3899IMG_3898IMG_3900IMG_3901IMG_3904IMG_3902IMG_3906 

We even mixed our colors at the end.  Red and yellow make orange, green and blue make turquoise.  Pretty fun!

IMG_3907IMG_3905 

This is what you get when you mix all the colors!

IMG_3917

Be sure to protect all surfaces and clothing…and hands!  The food coloring will stain!  Example…

IMG_3909

My silly kiddos being Easter Bunnies!

IMG_3903

Oh, and here’s our newest addition!  Happy Easter from the whole family!!!

IMG_3920IMG_3922

About Stacie

Hey, there! I'm a homemaker and homeschooler. I love my husband, my children, and my life. Hope you enjoy my blog.

One response »

  1. Daniel sizemore

    ?It was awesome!!!!

    ________________________________

    Reply

Leave a comment