Kids In The Kitchen: No Bake Granola Bars

Posted on

My kids and I love Quaker Chewy Granola Bars, but it has recently come to my attention that these are probably one of the most unhealthy granola bars on the grocery shelf…no wonder they taste so good.  So, I decided to try to make my own granola bars at home and found a great no bake recipe to try.  The kids were able to make them with almost no help from me, and they taste unbelievable.  No more store-bought granola bars for me and my family!

Here’s the step-by-step recipe with cute pics of my kiddos in the kitchen.  Enjoy!

IMG_0547

No Bake Granola Bars

Ingredients:

2 cups quick cooking oats

1 cup crispy rice cereal

1/4 cup shredded coconut

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup honey

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. vanilla

Choice of mix-ins

Directions:

1.  In a large bowl, mix together the oats…

IMG_0514

the rice cereal…

IMG_0517

and the coconut.  Set aside.

IMG_0518

2.  In a small sauce over medium high heat, melt the butter.

IMG_0523

Add the honey…

IMG_0524

brown sugar…

IMG_0526

and salt.

IMG_0527

Stir together and allow to come to a boil.  When the boil has reached the edges of the pan, begin timing for 2 minutes and 15 seconds.

3.  Remove from heat and add the vanilla.

IMG_0529

4.  Pour this mixture over the oat mix and stir everything together until oats are completely coated.

IMG_0531

Allow to cool.

5.  Add your choice of mix-ins.  We did cranberry white chocolate chip.  Add 1/2 cup of each ingredient you choose.  So for ours, we added 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips…

IMG_0534

and 1/2 cup of Craisins.

IMG_0536

You could add nuts, pretzels, chocolate chips, dried fruit, or candy…anything you think you might like in a granola bar.  Don’t you just love the freedom!?!

6.  Press the mix into a 9×13 pan…

IMG_0539

and stick in the fridge for 20 minutes.

7.  When cool, turn out onto a cutting board.  (I had to tap the bottom of my pan gently with a knife to release the granola.)  Cut the granola in 16 bars…

IMG_0544

and enjoy!

IMG_0548

I also did my own batch with salted peanuts, peanut butter chips, and chocolate chips.  It turned out very yummy!

IMG_0552

Hope you have as much fun making your granola bars as my kids and I did.

About Stacie

Hey, there! I'm a homemaker and homeschooler. I love my husband, my children, and my life. Hope you enjoy my blog.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you! My son can’t have gluten, so we’re always looking for treats such as this that he can enjoy–and of course looking for healthier options among all the not-so-healthy ones. I am sure he will love these.
    Looking forward to reading more! 🙂

    Reply
    • So glad I could help you and your family! I, too, try to find healthier, but also tasty, options for my kids. I think you’ll really enjoy these! They are super yummy!

      Reply

Leave a comment